Jupyter on Hyak: Not yet.

I’ve been trying to get Jupyter notebook to work on Hyak, and something is wonky in the directions, or ports open for Hyak that doesn’t allow for connections on a specified port.

Using the Old IKT Hyak directions here (The Mox directions link back to the how-to page) I tried the following in a terminal window:

ssh -N -f -L localhost:8899:localhost:8899 seanb80@mox.hyak.uw.edu

In another terminal window I followed with

module load anaconda2_4.3.1

and then

jupyter notebook --no-browser --port=8899

which seems to load fine.

I then open yet another terminal window and begin an interactive node via

srun -p srlab --pty /bin/bash

and attempt the required ssh portal to the interactive node via

ssh -N -f -L localhost:8899:localhost:8899 n2196

Where n2196 corresponds to the interactive instance I just opened.

This results in an error in the window the tunnel is opened of

bind: Address already in use
channel_setup_fwd_listener: cannot listen to port: 8899
Could not request local forwarding.

as well as an error in the window where the initial tunnel to Mox is opened of:

channel 2: open failed: connect failed: Connection refused

I’ve emailed the Hyak people, and hopefully they’ll get back soon with a workaround/what I’m doing wrong and we can make a tiny step forward.

The learning curve for Hyak just keeps getting steeper…

